Locationú║Home >Introduction


Established in 1928, the Department of Physics of Zhejiang University is specialized in physics education and research in early years of China. Many domestic famous physical scientists have ever studied and worked here and have made brilliant contributions to history of physics in China. In 1991, T.D.Lee, A Nobel Laureate for Physics, founded and took charge in Zhejiang Institute of Modern Physics in Zhejiang University, which became a new turning point for the development of the Department of Physics. In 1998, four colleges of the same root in Hangzhou were reconsolidated into the new Zhejiang University at the advocacy of the Ministry of Education. He Xiantu, academician of Chinese Academy of Science, was appointed the dean of the Faculty of Science and the deputy director of Zhejiang Institute of Modern Physics, which greatly pushed forward the development of the Department of Physics and improved the level of scientific research and teaching level of the department.
Department of Physics of Zhejiang University presently has around 110 faulty members (including over 40 professors), approximately 600 enrolled students (including undergraduates of around 320, postgraduates of around 130 and Ph. D student of around 170). The faculty include 3 academicians of Chinese Academy of Science (including 2 concurrent professors), two Thousand-talent Scheme scholars, 8 Ministry of Education Yangtze River Scholars (distinguished professor/ chair professor), 7 awardees of National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, 4 Qiushi distinguished professors, 2 scholars from “Hundred Talents Program” launched by Chinese Academy of Science, 8 Across Century Talents and New Century Talents of Ministry of Education and more than 20 middle-aged and young professors from various research fields. In addition, there are around 16 world famous physical scientists were successively appointed by Department of Physics as Guangbiao chair professor and Guangbiao distinguished professor of Zhejiang University. Meanwhile, a large number of outstanding oversea young scholars joined and became fresh blood of the Department of Physics.
Department of Physics, Zhejiang University provides courses of Theoretical Physics, Particle Physics and Nuclear Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Optics, Electronics and Radio Physics, Atomic and Molecular Physics and Plasma Physics. Five research entities were set under Department of Physics: Zhejiang Institute of Modern Physics, Institute of Condensed Matter Physics, Optics Research Institute, Electronics and Radio Physics Research Institute, Institute for Fusion Theory and Simulation of Zhejiang University. Also, there are discipline converging centers, such as “Quantum Science and Quantum Engineering” and “Interdisciplinary Laboratory” organized by academician Tang Xiaowei. The development and convergence of discipline are focused on the three themes, i.e. the frontier of the international technology, national long and middle-term plan for scientific development and cultivation of the high-level innovative talents.   
Through over years’ efforts, Department of Physics of Zhejiang University has developed into a physical talent training and scientific research institute with superior comprehensive force and importance influence in China. So far, the Department of Physics has set up physics (first level discipline) postdoctoral research program and doctoral program for physics (first level discipline). Of which, Theoretical Physics and Condensed Matter Physics are national key disciplines, Optics and Plasma Physics are Zhejiang Provincial key disciplines. The Department is also the national base for cultivation of scientific talents as well as the physics education base for engineering universities in China.